As you are probably aware, Minnesota Statutes require you to re-attend a training session in order to renew your 5 year Minnesota Carry Permit. The Statute says that you may renew your permit up to 90 days prior to the expiration of your current permit which means the first permits issued in May of 2003 will be able to be renewed in February of 2008. You should also be aware that training certificates (what you get from us when you attend a course) are valid for 1 year. The point to make here is "Don't wait to the last second to schedule a training course for your renewal". Also be advised that Pioneer Industries (The Carry Depot) will be offering special $70 rate for those individuals taking a renewal training course!
Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol:
What's Involved? Minnesota Statute 624.714 requires that an individual complete a basic firearms safety training course that must include "instruction in the fundamentals of pistol use", "successful completion of an actual shooting qualification exercise" and "instruction in the fundamental legal aspects of pistol possession, carry, and use, including self-defense and restrictions on the use of deadly force". Once the individual completes the required training course, they will receive a training certificate which they will submit with their application to their local Sheriff.
How Long is the Course:? The course normally takes about 5 hours depending somewhat on class size, individual participation and firearm proficiency.
When is the course offered? The only requirement that Pioneer Industries has to conduct a course is to have a minimum of three participants. Once we have a committment of as least 3 individuals on a common date and time, a course is scheduled. The most common time for courses is on Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. We also can offer courses on week days, Sundays, and evenings. By utilizing our class registration form, one can put themselves on a list to be notified once Pioneer Industries has a potential class scheduled.
Cost? The regular cost of a Minnesota Carry Permit course is $80 per individual. If you have a group of four or more, a $10 discount per person can be taken, thus the course fee becomes only $70 each. The fee for renewal training is only $70! Note that these fees are for only the mandatory training. Your Sheriff (who does the background check and actually issues the 5 year permit) can charge an initial fee of up to $100 ($75 for a renewal).
What do I have to bring to the class? Pioneer Industries provides all of the classroom lecture materials (bring a pen). The range exercise requires the student bring a handgun (preferably a 380 caliber or larger), 60 rounds of ammunition (factory or reliable reloads) and hearing/eye protection. Note: Should an individual have a physical problem with the handling of a 380 or larger firearm, the person may shoot a 22 although that caliber is not considered a good self-defense round. If the participant does not have a handgun to use, Pioneer Industries has 22lr pistols for rent for $10 (includes ammunition). The range also has a few loaner eye/ear protection units if someone forgets. The use of regular seeing eyeglasses is permitted if the student feels that they provide adequate protection.
What does the range qualification exercise consist of? Since the Minnesota does not specify a minimum caliber to be used, Pioneer Industries allows one to qualify with any handgun 22lr or larger. Note: Many self-defense instructors feel that the 380 caliber is the minimum acceptable caliber for self defense - a more general rule is to carry the largest caliber one can be proficient with. One should attempt qualification with the caliber of gun they intend to carry. The qualification consists of firing 18 rounds (12 two-handed and 6 strong-hand only) at an 8 1/2 X 11 target from a distance of 21 feet. In order to qualify, one must place a minimum of 14 rounds in the target. Multiple attempts to qualify (within reason) may be allowed. Our range area (where the shooter is) is enclosed and is heated in the winter.
NOTE: For classes conducted at the Osakis General Store, the range is outdoors. Please dress accordingly!
NOTE: We can also schedule "Women Only" courses for four or more!
To download a Minnsota Carry Application click on the link below: